New Hampshire Medicare Insurance Plans

Medicare Supplement Insurance (Medigap) Policies

The state flag of New Hampshire | New Hampshire Medicare Insurance

New Hampshire does not mandate plan providers to sell Medicare Supplement Insurance (or Medigap) policies to Medicare recipients under age 65. Some plan providers may still offer Medicare supplement options to those under 65, but they may charge higher costs or set other restrictions that do not apply to those 65 and older, or they may deny your application. In New Hampshire, Colonial Penn Life Insurance Company offers plans to eligible beneficiaries under 65.

Mini-COBRA Policies (Small Group)

Under New Hampshire law, small employers (less than 20 employees) are not required to offer health insurance continuation coverage for employees.

New Hampshire Medicare Savings Program

New Hampshire offers four Medicare Savings Programs that individuals who qualify may apply for through the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services Division of Family Assistance.

The following data is from 2016 and is based on federal amounts.  These amounts may increase in 2017.  If your income and resources are slightly higher, you should still apply, you may qualify for benefits even if your income is higher than the limits listed.*

  • Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMBs): For individuals with a monthly income under $1,010 or couples with a monthly income under $1,355 who are receiving Medicare Part A, the state pays all premiums, deductibles, copayments, and coinsurance for Medicare Parts A and B.
  • Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMBs): For individuals with a monthly income under $1,208 or couples with monthly income under $1,622 who are receiving Medicare Parts A and B, the state pays the Medicare Part B premium.
  • Qualified Individuals (QIs):For individuals with a monthly income under $1,357 or couples with monthly income under $1,823 who are receiving Medicare Parts A and B, the state pays the Medicare Part B premium.
  • Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals (QDWIs): For individuals with a monthly income under $4,045 and couples with monthly income under $5,425 per month who lost disability benefits due to earnings and are eligible to enroll in Medicare Part A, the state pays the Medicare Part A premium for up to 48 months.

*Data from Medicare.gov

**According to Secure.ssa.gov, you should be aware that several States may even disregard all resources for individuals or couples in certain categories.

New Hampshire State Health Insurance Assistance Program

New Hampshire provides a Medicare Learning Center inside each ServiceLink Resource Center, located in every county in the state. Medicare Learning Centers provide information to Medicare beneficiaries and their caregivers to help them better understand their health care coverage options. Their certified specialists and volunteers provide free counseling and application assistance.

(ExtraHelp) for Prescription Drugs

In 2016, you may qualify if you have up to $17,820 in yearly income ($24,030 for a married couple).

If you live in New Hampshire and have questions about the benefits listed above or how to choose the health care coverage that is right for you, consult with one of our Medicare licensed sales agents for customized help. Our knowledgeable team members can help you and compare New Hampshire Medicare Insurance Plans to ensure you find the benefits that meet your needs.