New Jersey Medicare Insurance Plans
Medicare Supplement Insurance (Medigap) Policies
New Jersey law requires insurance companies to make no less than one Medicare Supplement Insurance (or Medigap) policy available to Medicare recipients under age 65, including those with End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD). There are more than 20 insurers that offer Medicare Supplement Plan C to individuals between ages 50 and 64; only Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield offers a plan (Plan C) to those younger than age 50.
Mini-COBRA Policies (Small Group)
The New Jersey State Continuation of Coverage law requires small employers (less than 20 employees) to offer insurance continuation coverage for a maximum of 18 months to employees who were covered under the company group insurance plan for at least three months immediately prior to coverage ending.
New Jersey Medicare Savings Program
New Jersey offers three Medicare Savings Programs that individuals who qualify may apply for through the New Jersey Department of Human Services.
The following data is from 2016 and is based on federal amounts. These amounts may increase in 2017. If your income and resources are slightly higher, you should still apply, you may qualify for benefits even if your income is higher than the limits listed.*
- Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMBs): For individuals with a monthly income under $1,010 or couples with a monthly income under $1,355 who are receiving Medicare Part A, the state pays all premiums, deductibles, copayments, and coinsurance for Medicare Parts A and B.
- Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMBs): For individuals with a monthly income under $1,208 or couples with monthly income under $1,622 who are receiving Medicare Parts A and B, the state pays the Medicare Part B premium.
- Qualified Individuals (QIs): For individuals with a monthly income under $1,357 or couples with monthly income under $1,823 who are receiving Medicare Parts A and B, the state pays the Medicare Part B premium.
- Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals (QDWIs): For individuals with a monthly income under $4,045 and couples with income under $5,425 per month who lost disability benefits due to earnings and are eligible to enroll in Medicare Part A, the state pays the Medicare Part A premium for up to 48 months.
*Data from Medicare.gov
**According to Secure.ssa.gov, you should be aware that several States may even disregard all resources for individuals or couples in certain categories.
New Jersey State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP)
New Jersey SHIP is a statewide program made possible with state and federal funding to provide free help to Medicare beneficiaries and their caregivers. Volunteer counselors provide unbiased, one-on-one assistance with choosing a plan, dealing with claims, and other common Medicare questions.
Low-Income Subsidy (Extra Help) for Prescription Drugs
In 2016, you may qualify if you have up to $17,820 in yearly income ($24,030 for a married couple).
If you live in New Jersey and have questions about the benefits listed above or how to choose the health care coverage that will meet your needs, consult with one of our Medicare licensed sales agents for help when you compare New Jersey Medicare insurance plans. Our knowledgeable team members can help ensure you discover the Medicare benefits that are right for your health care needs.